Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2021 is set to resume after 29 matches, which was suspended on May 4th. Data collected during the tournament shows that only about 50 percent of the games were completed before the suspension.

Chennai Super Kings

Only 29 of the 56 league matches played have been completed. While four more playoffs were scheduled, there is now plenty of time for teams to fall back into the heavy shoes as a result of the acrimony or friction that has arisen, and highly-capable top-notch teams may potentially tumble out of the minimum qualifying places. The latest IPL betting expects Chennai Super Kings to win.

We can determine which teams are most likely to qualify for the playoffs and win the final, as well as which players are a strong bet for the Orange and Purple Caps, based on statistics from the previous six editions of the game and the 29 matches they played.

IPL standings


According to data compiled by IPL betting site Betway, only one team can be declared out of qualifying for the play-offs and therefore have no chance to win the IPL.

The eighth-placed team after 29 matches in the past six years has never ended the league stage in the top four, thus Sunrisers Hyderabad appears to be out of the competition this year. For everyone else, the tournament is still going ahead.

After match 29 in one of the previous IPL sessions, the Mumbai Indians were in the seventh position with two wins and five losses but won six of their next seven games to finish second in the league rankings and win the championship.

Mumbai is the most successful team in IPL history, but it would be naive to consider a comeback by Kolkata Knight Riders, who are now eighth on the 2021 ranking.

Although reaching seventh or higher puts you in contention, being at the top of the league is definitely better at this point. The team leading after match 29 has never failed to qualify for the top four in the previous six seasons, has finished first in the league five times, and has won the tournament twice — more than any other position.

The Delhi Capitals, who are leading the way in 2021, should be a foregone conclusion in terms of qualifying for the knock-out stages.

Though the remaining top four teams are in a strong position — teams in each position have qualified for four of the six tournaments since 2015 – they are still vulnerable.

One team out of Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, or Mumbai Indians is likely to not make it to the playoffs.

With the Sunrisers out, at least one of the Rajasthan Royals, Punjab Kings, or Kolkata Knight Riders should qualify.

Orange Caps


The race for the top run-scorer appears to be considerably tighter.

14 players have finished within the top five in the past six seasons after starting outside the top five after match 29, but none of them has ever won the Orange Cap.

At this stage of the competition, only players among the top three run-scorers have won the orange cap.

This leaves just Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, and Faf du Plessis in contention for the title this year.

Three of the previous six players in second place at this stage have gone on to win the championship, implying that Rahul has the upper hand, although all three batters are capable of achieving so.

No Orange Cap leader has ever dropped out of the top five completely after match 29, implying that Dhawan will factor in the top few spots at the very least.

Nobody else is certain to get there before the competition’s finish date of October 15.

Purple Caps


It just takes a good day with the ball to be in contention for the Purple Cap, it’s really no wonder that somehow this race is a little more open than in the prior.

After match 29, though, all of the last six biggest wicket-takers were still in the top five of the race.

At this point, past winners have been second, third, fourth, and fifth, although the player at the top of the table has won the award twice.

Harshal Patel of Royal Challengers Bangalore is thus the most likely winner, with Avesh Khan, Chris Morris, Rahul Chahar, and Rashid Khan also having a chance.

No player who has ever finished first in the standings after match 29 has ever dropped out of the top five entirely, thus Patel is a foregone conclusion that he will be in contention at the end of the tournament.

Over the previous six years, players in second, fourth, and fifth place have slipped out of the top five as frequently as they have stayed in it, so Avesh, Chahar, and Rashid should all be looking over their shoulders.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here